Local Government Elections 5th May 2022 - Results

An introduction to elections

Argyll and Bute Council administers all local and national elections in the area. There are three standard types of elections:

  • Local (Council)
  • Scottish Parliamentary (Constituency and List)
  • Parliamentary (Westminster)

In addition to these, By-elections will be held if a Councillor, MP or MSP dies or resigns. Special Elections such as referendums are also held occasionally. Community Council Elections are run every four years with By-elections being held every 2 years.

Upcoming Elections and Ballots



Information about voting

Are you registered to vote?
To take part in elections and referenda, you must be registered to vote. Register to vote now
You can find out more information about registering to vote, or check if you are already registered (this is sometimes called the electoral roll) by calling the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 980 0470.

If you move house, you don't get registered at your new address automatically - you will need to update your details online or call the Electoral Registration Office to change your address.

For more information on residency, age and nationalities for qualifying to register, please visit the Registration Office website.

How to vote

In person - Polling stations are open from 7am until 10pm on polling day.  As long as you are registered to vote, you will receive a poll card which will tell you where your polling station is.

Voting by post - Anyone can apply to vote by post, you do not need a special reason.  You must be registered to vote, and need to fill in an application form.

Please return completed forms to:    
Electoral Registration Officer
Kilbrannan House
Bolgam Street
PA28 6HZ

Proxy vote - In some cases it may be possible for you to apply for a proxy vote.  This is when you appoint someone you trust to vote on your behalf.  For more information about this, please contact the Electoral Registration Office on the number above, or follow this link to find out more - Find out more about proxy voting

More information:  The Electoral Commission - an independent body which oversees elections - has useful information for voters, candidates / agents, campaigners and electoral administrators available on the website.

Did you know that in Scotland, you can vote in some elections once you’re 16?

Young people are clear that they want to have a say in decisions that affect them. Voting is one of the most effective and important ways they can use their voice and influence results.

The Electoral Registration Office contacts young people aged 14/15, throughout the year, to encourage them to register to vote in time for their 16th birthday.

If you’re 14 and over, you can register to vote. If you’re 16 or over, and you’ve registered, you can vote in Scottish Parliament and local government elections – helping to choose the MSPs and councillors who will represent the area where you live.

Please look out for information coming out in the post from the Electoral Registration Office. It will include forms and guidance on what to do and how to do it. You can also register online – it’s quick and easy to do, and it only takes five minutes. There are links below to the information provided by both the Scottish and UK Governments about registration and voting.

Don’t miss out on your chance to have your say in how your local area is represented – register now so you can vote when the time’s right!

Register to vote in Scotland - mygov.scot

Register to vote - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

Recent Elections and Ballots



 9th March 2023

Community Council By-Elections

 2nd March 2023

Dunoon Presents Renewal Bid

15th December 2022

Community Council By-Elections

8th December 2022

Bid4Oban Renewal

20th October 2022

Community Council Elections

29th September 2022

Kintyre and the Islands (Ward 2) By-Election

5 May 2022

Scottish Local Government Elections

10 March 2022

Community Council by-elections - Bute and Cowal

16 Dec 2021

Community Council by-elections - Isle of Coll

16 Dec 2021

Lomond North by-election

30 Sept 2021

Community Council by-elections - 30 September 2021

 9 Sept 2021

Isle of Bute BID

 6 May 2021

Scottish Parliament Election


Polling District / Polling Station Review

18 March 2021

Isle of Bute, Ward 8 By-Election

18 March 2021

Helensburgh and Lomond South By-Election

5th November 2020

Community Council By-elections - 5 Nov 2020

12 December 2019 

UK Parliamentary Election 2019

24th October 2019

Community Council By-elections - 24 Oct 2019

23rd May 2019

European Election

4th October 2018

Community Council by-elections - 4 Oct 2018

28th June 2018

Community Council By-Elections - 28 June 2018

26th April 2018

Community Council Elections 2018

1st March 2018

Dunoon Business Improvement District (BID) Renewal

5 October 2017

BID4 Oban Ballot

8 June 2017

UK Parliamentary Elections

4 May 2017

Scottish Local Government Elections

5 May 2016

Scottish Parliamentary Elections


Recent by-elections

Contact the Election Office

If you have any queries please contact the Election Team who will be happy to help:

Argyll and Bute Council Election Office
PA31 8RT

Telephone: 01546 605522
Email: elections@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Your personal data

The election office provide a number of services to a range of people and in some cases they rely on us collecting and using information about individuals. Everything we do with that information has to comply with data protection legislation. Below follows information on our data protection practices through a series of privacy notices relevant to a number of parties. These notices are used to inform you of details about the type of information we collect, why we collect it, what we use if for, who we share it with and what rights you have about the information we hold about you.

Access to Elected Office Fund

This fund offers financial assistance to disabled people who are seeking selection or have already been selected to stand in Local Authority and Scottish Parliament Elections, including by-elections.  The Fund is administered by Inclusion Scotland and pays for practical support to allow disabled people to fully participate in the electoral process. Further information is available on the Inclusion Scotland website

Working at Elections in Argyll and Bute

Have you ever thought of getting involved at election time by either working at a polling station or at the count? Our Election Team is always looking for new people to help us, and would love to hear from you if you are interested in becoming involved.

Find out more and apply here on our website