Harbour Consultation Policy

1. Introduction

Argyll and Bute Council is a Statutory Harbour Authority at eight locations and a marine asset owner at a further 28 marine facilities located throughout the Council area. The Council's Statutory Harbour Authorities are namely:

- 1. Bruichladdich Pier, by virtue of the 'Islay Piers Order, 1904'.
- Carradale Harbour, by virtue of the 'Pier and Harbour Orders Confirmation (No 3) Act, 1901'.
- 3. Campbeltown Harbour, by virtue of 'Campbeltown Harbour Acts and Orders 1846 to 2011'.
- 4. Craignure Harbour, by virtue of the 'Argyll County Council (Arinagour and Craignure Piers, etc) Order 1961'.
- 5. Dunoon Harbour, by virtue of 'The Pier and Harbour Orders Confirmation Acts 1895 to 1906'.
- Oban North & South Pier, by virtue of the 'Oban Pier and Harbour Orders 1862 to 1988'.
- 7. Port Askaig, by virtue of the 'Port Askaig Acts and Order 1904 to 1975'.
- Rothesay Harbour, by virtue of the 'Rothesay Harbour Acts and Orders 1831 to 1937'.

The Council is the marine asset owner and, in most cases, operator of 28 piers, wharves and slipways. Some of these marine assets are located within the jurisdiction of a Statutory Harbour Authority (for example, Kilcreggan and Helensburgh Piers are located in Clydeport's harbour). Others are located outside of Harbour Authority boundaries (for example, Iona and Fionnphort). In all situations, the Council is responsible for marine safety and must manage these facilities in compliance with the requirements of the Code.

In addition, the Council is also the Competent Harbour Authority in respect of Pilotage, under the requirements of the Pilotage Act 1987, at:

• Campbeltown Harbour.

Argyll and Bute Council manages these ports, harbours and piers as the Statutory Harbour Authority (SHA) and Local Lighthouse Authority (LLA). Additionally, the Council is the Marine Asset Owner at the further 28 piers, jetties and slipways with a range of duties and responsibilities described in the Port Marine Safety Code, health and safety, environmental and maritime legislation and guidance.

The Executive Director of Development & Infrastructure Services is the Duty Holder under the Port Marine Safety Code.

2. Consultation and the Port Marine Safety Code

The Port Marine Safety Code emphasises the importance of effective consultation by all Harbour Authorities with all stakeholders and beneficiaries. This includes all those who use our harbours in some way, as well as those that represent them.

3. Argyll & Bute Council as Harbour Authority agree to:

- 1. Consult as early as is practicable with stakeholders and beneficiaries when changes to Argyll & Bute Council legislation and policy are being considered.
- 2. Consult widely with port and harbour users and other relevant stakeholders in respect of navigational safety issues and proposed changes to navigational arrangements.
- 3. Include appropriate Argyll & Bute Council staff in the consultation process.
- 4. Include appropriate practicing Harbour users in the ongoing work to identify navigational hazards, assess the risk of such hazards and recommend appropriate control and mitigation measures.
- 5. Provide regular feedback on the Authority's performance, in particular its compliance with the Port Marine Safety Code, to all stakeholders and beneficiaries.
- 6. Publish an annual review of Argyll & Bute Council's activity and achievements through the Marine Safety Action Plan.
- 7. Publish policies, plans and periodic reports that may be required to demonstrate compliance with standards.

Kirsty Flanagan Executive Director and Duty Holder Development and Infrastructure Services Argyll and Bute Council